Skip to content

The Adventures of a Job-Seeker: Part I

November 27, 2009

It is a couple of weeks now that I have been applying for jobs.

I was extremely lucky that almost immediately after I started applying for jobs, I stumbled across a temping position substituting the office administrator of an organisation based at the Free Word Centre. It had always been my intention to do some temping work while job huntig, but to have found a position in such a relevant organisation and with almost no effort on my part was a really big stroke of luck. I was already dreading having to grapple with multiple, overworked London temping agencies to then land, weeks later, some odd call centre job. Thanks to my ever wonderful friend Miriam, I am so much better off instead.

Unfortunately I can’t really say the same for job/internship hunting. Not only I have not yet received “any joy with the jobs” as my current boss put it yesterday (of course I heard “Are you enjoying the job?” and replied with an enthusiastical yes), but also only one organisation has had the good manners to acknowledge my application and notify me of their rejection. While I will not name and shame the others (you never know, they might still be reading over my covering letter in awe after all), I will commend the International Art Consultants for their kindness.

In an era when Outlook makes it so easy to keep track to correspondence and reply to many people at once, I find it a sad state of the job market when employers, even big ones, don’t find it important to match the time and effort that one has put in applying with at least something along the lines of  “Thanks, but try again next time”.

As you can see I have applied to too few jobs yet to let go of my job-seeker pride yet!

More specific arts-related job market news in the future…

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Zara permalink
    November 27, 2009 13:56

    I know the frustration! You spend hours perfecting the covering letter, looking up details on the people you’re applying to, tailoring it to be perfect, and not even a single “we’re sorry”. I applied for about 30 or 40 companies during my job search and only got 2 rejection letters! Although I guess it is a sad state of affairs when we are happy to at least get a rejection letter. :)

  2. Andrew permalink
    November 27, 2009 18:12

    I’ve heard that companies are reluctant to reply due to the discrimination act. I’m unsure of the intricacies but they said it was to prevent anyone taking them to court if they hired someone less qualified. It’s ridiculous and annoying as hell but keep trying Ele, you have a lot to offer! :)

  3. November 27, 2009 18:20

    Thanks for the sympathy guys! Andrew I think yours was the first ever rated comment! (Personally, I am maintaining a neutrality policy).

    What you say about the discrimination act is an intriguing possibility although my main two responses to it would be:

    1) I can still find out relatively easily who has been appointed, if not on the organisation’s website then I can just phone up and ask to speak to their

    2) Most of the times organisations can argue quite successfully that even if you are more qualified you were less “right” for the job in the sense that maybe you have shown a worse understanding of the organisation, or you lack some other skills that they might have been looking for during the interview.

  4. Zara permalink
    November 27, 2009 18:42

    I think the question is, what are they doing hiring someone less qualified anyway?

    If they DO hire someone less qualified without even having offered you an interview, they have clearly gone around the hiring process the wrong way.

    If not, they really should have nothing to worry about.

    IMHO, companies who don’t respond are just lazy/inconsiderate and, with that in mind, you probably don’t want to work there anyway. I’m weirdly pleased to say that my place tailor writes rejection letters (I should know, I had to edit one the other day).

    It took me six months to find these guys (and one of my friends over a year of unemployment after graduating before he landed a job at Amazon), so that perfect company with the perfect job will show up, don’t worry.

Leave a Reply

